No Man's Land

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 26 Sep 2014, 14:33

Hey guys
We are currently working on No Man's Land, which is a fast-paced arena-based combat game about claiming resources and surviving the changing environment ;)
It's in its early concept stage, but we have a lot of ideas for it. Our main idea is to create an arena game that can be played in 10 minute sessions - for all those action-arena loving people who simply don't have time to play DOTA for the usual prolonged sessions.

You can check our page on Facebook here! https://www.facebook.com/MissileMoose

Here's some sketches:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

s_u_m_s_a_r
Level 9 - Conjurer
Posts: 95
Joined: 10 Mar 2008, 15:00
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by s_u_m_s_a_r » 26 Sep 2014, 15:22

Elsker Missile Moose i Action-pose :D

User avatar
jonaz.dk
Site Admin
Posts: 2345
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 22:24
Location: DK
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by jonaz.dk » 26 Sep 2014, 17:46

hehe.. dejligt crazy. Glæder mig til at se mere. Stay 2D art. :)

User avatar
vonknut
Level 78 - Basher of noobs
Posts: 813
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 16:34
Location: CPH

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by vonknut » 27 Sep 2014, 12:27

s_u_m_s_a_r wrote:Elsker Missile Moose i Action-pose :D
Hvis den laver poop hver gang den skyder, så kan du godt signe mig op for pre-buy :)
Hans von Knut Skovfoged - Creative Dir.
PortaPlay - Interactive Entertainment and Learning

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 27 Sep 2014, 12:58

vonknut wrote:
s_u_m_s_a_r wrote:Elsker Missile Moose i Action-pose :D
Hvis den laver poop hver gang den skyder, så kan du godt signe mig op for pre-buy :)
Hah! Det skal vi helt sikkert overveje! :D
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

User avatar
sodandk
Level 28 - Kraken
Posts: 284
Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 15:01
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by sodandk » 27 Sep 2014, 17:46

lol

User avatar
DoomCaek
Level 1 - Speck of dust
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 17:54

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by DoomCaek » 28 Sep 2014, 15:41

I love it! 8D

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 29 Oct 2014, 23:34

Some nice things are happening. We have talked to someone who really likes the project (Motivation!) and now we are going to get all the documents and a small prototype of the gameplay done that we will show them. Things are looking good for this game!
Here's a little update to our map picture: http://imgur.com/nC42k5V
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

User avatar
Pegepinden
Level 16 - Hellghast
Posts: 167
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 22:51

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Pegepinden » 30 Oct 2014, 02:38

Looks fun and awesome!

Just out of curiosity, did you think about a network solution yet? :)
I code stuff, it is true!

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 30 Oct 2014, 09:06

Pegepinden wrote:Looks fun and awesome!

Just out of curiosity, did you think about a network solution yet? :)
Yes we are making our own. We have an awesome programmer who knows his shit :D
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

User avatar
Pegepinden
Level 16 - Hellghast
Posts: 167
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 22:51

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Pegepinden » 30 Oct 2014, 12:49

Ouch! But fair enough :D
I code stuff, it is true!

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 30 Oct 2014, 13:42

Actually we just announced this on our facebook:

"Yesterday we reached another major milestone in the implementation of our prototype. We got an internet lobby, server and a play session up and running. In other words, when we'll need testers (which we will!) it'll go smoothly over the wide web."

Image
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

User avatar
Pegepinden
Level 16 - Hellghast
Posts: 167
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 22:51

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Pegepinden » 30 Oct 2014, 14:42

Its just, no matter how good a programmer you are, if you server needs to work very well and scale well it will take a LOT of time (load balancing, data compression, 'reliable' UDP and so on). Its not that hard to create a basic socket server, its more having a polished scale-able solution that is the problem.
I code stuff, it is true!

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 30 Oct 2014, 14:55

Pegepinden wrote:Its just, no matter how good a programmer you are, if you server needs to work very well and scale well it will take a LOT of time (load balancing, data compression, 'reliable' UDP and so on). Its not that hard to create a basic socket server, its more having a polished scale-able solution that is the problem.
True that. This is only for our prototype at the moment, we'll see what other types of things we'll need later on - and then we might need something we can't just do ourselves xD
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

ThomasLund
Level 23 - Spider demon
Posts: 230
Joined: 16 Mar 2011, 18:28
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by ThomasLund » 30 Oct 2014, 23:29

I would never ever code my own server solution - its suicide for a small team to even attempt that, almost no matter how "good" the programmer.

Many very good solutions out there that have taken years to build and that scale well - and that are affordable.

Just my advice from someone who has been there, done that and moved on to a 3rd party solution ages ago
Full Control
Makers of Smack Boxing, Smack Hockey, Monster Ball, Electrocute, Touch Wars, Tactical Soldier, Frontline Tactics, Space Hulk, Jagged Alliance Flashback, Space Hulk Ascension

User avatar
jonaz.dk
Site Admin
Posts: 2345
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 22:24
Location: DK
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by jonaz.dk » 30 Oct 2014, 23:59

Indeed.. networking is quite a science in itself.

A few tips on that.

We've been happy with Unity Park Suite on the Star Pirats project. Free loooong evaluation.
http://developer.muchdifferent.com/unitypark/Downloads

Photon - Highly battle tested
https://www.exitgames.com/en/Realtime

User avatar
Pegepinden
Level 16 - Hellghast
Posts: 167
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 22:51

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Pegepinden » 31 Oct 2014, 01:20

Worked a lot with Photon, both server and cloud. Its really great.
Unity Park Suite should also be awesome.

However as an outsider: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/18358

Loading Balancing is not in at the moment but should come. However this is something you could fix yourself. Its quite cheap. It offers so much actually. Only played with it a bit as the author more less offered it for free to me( :D ) but was impressed.
I code stuff, it is true!

User avatar
Code
Level 38 - Roger Wilco
Posts: 386
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 14:56
Location: Aalborg
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Code » 31 Oct 2014, 10:28

Thanks for all the replies. We already know about Photon, and it's good to know about all these other network solutions and your experiences with them :D
I'll make sure to ask the lead programmer about this.
Spiludvikling og undervisning i Unity3D
http://www.code.dk

Danmarksmesterskabet i spiludvikling.
http://www.dmspil.dk

ThomasLund
Level 23 - Spider demon
Posts: 230
Joined: 16 Mar 2011, 18:28
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by ThomasLund » 31 Oct 2014, 11:54

Tell him, that he should be making games and not reinvent the wheel :-)
Full Control
Makers of Smack Boxing, Smack Hockey, Monster Ball, Electrocute, Touch Wars, Tactical Soldier, Frontline Tactics, Space Hulk, Jagged Alliance Flashback, Space Hulk Ascension

User avatar
zhennTil
Level 0 - Null
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Oct 2014, 11:34
Location: Aalborg

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by zhennTil » 31 Oct 2014, 12:00

Hi y'all, lead programmer here.
Figured this would be a fine time to stop lurking and step in. ;)

First of all, I agree with all of your concerns about the networking. We are well aware of the complexity of the issue.

Let me just make it clear that we are not writing our own networking engine here.
For the prototype, we are using Unity's fine RakNet-based engine as a peer-to-peer(ish) solution.
The only central server we are running is therefore Unity's slightly-less-fine-and-extremely-poorly-documented Master Server/Facilitator/Connection Tester triplet, again purely for the prototype -- what we end up using in production is an entirely different discussion.
This system has only the (relatively) simple job of arbitrating the connections between peers, so it sees very little load compared to an actual game server.

We'll see how well this setup actually behaves in wider testing, and at that point we'll certainly consider solutions like Photon and what-have-you, but for now it is having no problems. :)

Thanks for the tips, much appreciated!

ThomasLund
Level 23 - Spider demon
Posts: 230
Joined: 16 Mar 2011, 18:28
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by ThomasLund » 31 Oct 2014, 12:06

Hi lurker programmer @ Red Ocean

:-)

Just simply drop using the shitty RakNet Unity stuff in the first place and swap to Photon, SmartFox or similar solution right away. Even for prototype usage. Some of the "real" solutions require a different (and better) way of separating client/server code and you will end up having to rewrite a shitload of code from scratch.

So do it right the first time!

/me steps down from the sandbox
Full Control
Makers of Smack Boxing, Smack Hockey, Monster Ball, Electrocute, Touch Wars, Tactical Soldier, Frontline Tactics, Space Hulk, Jagged Alliance Flashback, Space Hulk Ascension

User avatar
zhennTil
Level 0 - Null
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Oct 2014, 11:34
Location: Aalborg

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by zhennTil » 31 Oct 2014, 12:39

ThomasLund wrote:Just simply drop using the shitty RakNet Unity stuff in the first place and swap to Photon, SmartFox or similar solution right away. Even for prototype usage.
I'm curious as to why Unity's RakNet stuff is so shitty -- I'd love to hear your reasons, the main one I can think of is lack of maintenance.
ThomasLund wrote:Some of the "real" solutions require a different (and better) way of separating client/server code and you will end up having to rewrite a shitload of code from scratch.
I assume you're talking about authoritative server stuff, of which I am well aware.

User avatar
Pegepinden
Level 16 - Hellghast
Posts: 167
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 22:51

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by Pegepinden » 31 Oct 2014, 13:34

I think one of the thing's is that why start all over again? Also its not just 1 to 1 from a P2P solution to a authoritative setup, it is two different beasts.

For Unity's RakNet, well for your case it might be OKAY, but try and give it a spin on Google and you will see all kind of problems people ran into. There is a reason that almost no one (serious) uses it now a day.
I code stuff, it is true!

User avatar
zhennTil
Level 0 - Null
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Oct 2014, 11:34
Location: Aalborg

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by zhennTil » 31 Oct 2014, 14:29

Pegepinden wrote:For Unity's RakNet, well for your case it might be OKAY, but try and give it a spin on Google and you will see all kind of problems people ran into. There is a reason that almost no one (serious) uses it now a day.
Yeah, performance problems seem to be the main concern. But then, UnityPark Suite boasts full compatibility (API-wise) with the built-in RakNet interface, so making the switch to uLink et al if/when we acquire funding seems like the best option here.

User avatar
sodandk
Level 28 - Kraken
Posts: 284
Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 15:01
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: No Man's Land

Unread post by sodandk » 31 Oct 2014, 16:04

Vi bruger forresten RakNet i Build A World. Det fungerer godt.
Derudover har vi lagt realtime LZMA komprimering og dekomprimering ind, hvilket sparer 90+% af båndbredden.
(LZMA komprimerer ca. til halv størrelse sammenlignet med ZLIB og med samme hastighed).

Post Reply